Skip to main content

Testimonials & Reviews

4.88/5
Vasili Karas, M.D., M.S. -  - Hip and Knee Replacement and Reconstruction

Vasili Karas, M.D., M.S.

Hip and Knee Replacement and Reconstruction located in Chicago, IL & Oak Park, IL

4.88/5 Star Rating
1199 total reviews

Dr. Vasili Karas always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 1199 reviews with an average rating of 4.88 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. Vasili Karas below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Rosemarie P.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/28/24
Great team*
Ruth G.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/23/24
very good*
Linda R.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/22/24
Dr. Karas and his staff were friendly and professional. He listened diligently to my concerns and addressed my knee problem in an easy to understand way. Explained the whole replacement process and told me what to expect. Looking forward to my surgery.*
Denise B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/22/24
Mine was a first, initial consult meeting with Dr Karas. It is a major process, involving layers of info gathering, including xrays. I was grateful for the time & thorough approach. But do keep your schedule clear after your appointment time because it is a lengthy process to the end. But that's a good thing when looking into a knee replacement, you don't want to feel rushed, like so many appointments trying to fit everyone into 15-20 min slots. I'm glad to wait because it means that everyone gets enough time with the doctor, when it's your turn as well, & it is a Super busy place. It was a very impressive experience.*
Maria H.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/22/24
Dr. Karas and his entire team were exceptional!! It’s been 3 weeks since my tkr and I cannot thank them enough….I am beginning to do tasks that were very difficult prior to my surgery. Taking steps forward…. THANK YOU ALL.*
Verka G.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/22/24
The visit went very well *
Vesselin At. V.
2/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/20/24
On October 2021 year I had Hip Joint replacement surgery done by Dr Vasili Karas. Officially my surgery was successful . But right after the surgery I experienced muscle spasms and heavy cramps at my left hip artificial joints until now Febr 2024. Next 5 months I performed a lot of physical therapy sessions . At first I used two crutches to be able to walk and after 30 sessions I stop using them. On April and May 2023 I performed also 14 sessions with ultrasound device and with medical patches connected with cables, liquid steroid and low electric currency. Therapist told me that after 6- sessions my muscle cramps will be minimized. This Not happened. After 13 sessions I had temporary little improvement. Then therapist made conclusion " you have a many scars inside in some muscles" that's why no result. Last June 2023 year I visited another orthopedic doctor surgeon. After 3 X rays of my left Hip joint he said" the artificial joint look normal". Then he put me on medical table and started moving my leg - up and down, rotations, extensions . .and concluded " the reason for your almost permanent muscle spasms and cramps at Hip joint are scars tissues inside more than normal " Finally now January 31 st 2024 I visited again my surgeon Dr. Vasili KARAS . I wrote and printed my "medical history" one and half page but with big size letters. To be easy to read. I gave it to Dr. Karas. He took a look for 12-14 seconds and did NOT read it. He needed 4 min to read it. Then he asked me " what is your problem now 2 years after surgery ? " I told him again " permanent muscle spasms and cramps in my artificial hip joint, especially when I bend a little my body" Please, I need a help ! Then he didn't try to touch my hip joint or to press some muscles and said " all right you need muscle relaxant medication" and wrote prescription. That set. Our conversation lasted less than 3 min and Dr Karas left the office . But my questions is : if some patients after Hip joint replacement surgery have scars tissues in muscles more than normal, how muscle relaxant will help ?? before dissolving ,before reducing these scars in muscles ? How ? The scars are like hard fibers. Theoretically according to many medical websites and research written from orthopedic doctors Is Not possible to relax muscles before dissolving most of them. In my case I expected and hoped that high rated Dr Vasili Karas MD will prescribe me some specific medication -to minimize and to dissolve such scars tissues in muscles. But he didn't and maybe he does Not know such medications. I am so frustrated and desperate after my visitation with Dr V. Karas surgeon. I think I don't have a reason to visit him again .I started already serious research with Google to find some alternative natural substances to take to be able to minimize these miserable scars. Now I have permanent problem with my movements, with my everyday tasks May GOD help me ? regards; Vesselin V. from Bartlett, IL  Like  Share *
Vesselin Atan. V.
2/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/20/24
On October 2021 year I had Hip Joint replacement surgery done by Dr Vasili Karas. Officially my surgery was successful . But right after the surgery I experienced muscle spasms and heavy cramps at my left hip artificial joints until now Febr 2024. Next 5 months I performed a lot of physical therapy sessions . At first I used two crutches to be able to walk and after 30 sessions I stop using them. On April and May 2023 I performed also 14 sessions with ultrasound device and with medical patches connected with cables, liquid steroid and low electric currency. Therapist told me that after 6- sessions my muscle cramps will be minimized. This Not happened. After 13 sessions I had temporary little improvement. Then therapist made conclusion " you have a many scars inside in some muscles" that's why no result. Last June 2023 year I visited another orthopedic doctor surgeon. After 3 X rays of my left Hip joint he said" the artificial joint look normal". Then he put me on medical table and started moving my leg - up and down, rotations, extensions . .and concluded " the reason for your almost permanent muscle spasms and cramps at Hip joint are scars tissues inside more than normal " Finally now January 31 st 2024 I visited again my surgeon Dr. Vasili KARAS . I wrote and printed my "medical history" one and half page but with big size letters. To be easy to read. I gave it to Dr. Karas. He took a look for 12-14 seconds and did NOT read it. He needed 4 min to read it. Then he asked me " what is your problem now 2 years after surgery ? " I told him again " permanent muscle spasms and cramps in my artificial hip joint, especially when I bend a little my body" Please, I need a help ! Then he didn't try to touch my hip joint or to press some muscles and said " all right you need muscle relaxant medication" and wrote prescription. That set. Our conversation lasted less than 3 min and Dr Karas left the office . But my questions is : if some patients after Hip joint replacement surgery have scars tissues in muscles more than normal, how muscle relaxant will help ?? before dissolving ,before reducing these scars in muscles ? How ? The scars are like hard fibers. Theoretically according to many medical websites and research written from orthopedic doctors Is Not possible to relax muscles before dissolving most of them. In my case I expected and hoped that high rated Dr Vasili Karas MD will prescribe me some specific medication -to minimize and to dissolve such scars tissues in muscles. But he didn't and maybe he does Not know such medications. I am so frustrated and desperate after my visitation with Dr V. Karas surgeon. I think I don't have a reason to visit him again .I started already serious research with Google to find some alternative natural substances to take to be able to minimize these miserable scars. Now I have permanent problem with my movements, with my everyday tasks May GOD help me ? regards; Vesselin V. from Bartlett, IL  Like  Share *
Nancy J.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/15/24
Dr. Karas is a wonderful doctor. Very welcoming and addressed my concerns. He is not in a rush to get you out of his office. Thanks to him, after my knee replacement, I am able to go for walks again. My replacement was not a normal surgery, but he did wonders for me. *
Nancy T.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/14/24
Fantastic care! I have never had better care, communication and understanding from any doctors office. I would definitely recommend Dr. Kara's. *
Monica M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/11/24
Great *
Gary B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/07/24
Good and efficient service.*
Aimee G.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/04/24
Dr. Karas was top notch. I was very pleased with my care.*
Vesselin V.
4/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/02/24
I still believe that Dr.Vasili Karas MD is one of the best orthopaedical surgeon. I had Hip Joint replacement surgery performed by Dr Vasili Karas around 2 years ago. My surgery was done well. Then next 6 months I performed a lot of physical therapy with licensed therapist. But after my surgery one problem occurred and this bothered me until today. I have muscle spasms and serious cramps at the same Hip joint .Especially when I need to bend my body at angle 30-40 degrees .These muscle spasms and cramps I still have most of the time. They impact my movements. Last year 2023 according to Referral from another licensed orthopedic surgeon I did 14-session specific therapy with ultrasound medical device and Iontophoresis with medical patches connected to cables, liquid steroid and applying low electric currency. Therapist told me that after 5 sessions my muscle cramps will decrease significantly ? I mean my spasms and cramps at the incision area of the surgery. WE did 14 sessions with very little temporary result, So I am still suffering from these permanent spasms and cramps. Only in the night time I don,t have such cramps, because I don,t need to move. So currently I visited again my surgeon Dr. V. Karas MD .Before that I wrote my medical history and printed on one and half page with big size letters, to be easy to read. I described the treatments I performed last one year and 5 months. I reported the opinion of another orthopedic doctor surgeon, that after my surgery scars tissues developed more than normal in some muscles . So when I visited Dr ..V. Karas I gave him my printed medical history.I hoped that he will spend 4- or 5 min to read it, but he didn,t . He took a look maybe 15 seconds, no more and he asked me" what is your problem" Then we talked 2 minutes maximum , he briefly answered one question. I didn,t have a time to ask one more question important to me. Doctor Karas left a office. So I am not satisfied. I expected that he will at least touch my left Hip artificial joint and some muscles and then to say something. Well I am not a doctor. But I will suggest to Dr.V. Karas when patient will come back to him, to spend at least 6 -8 min to hear some questions, complains and to try to answer. I wish Dr Karas very good health and future success regards: Vesselin V from Bartlett *
Cheryl B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/01/24
Dr. Karas and his resident were very knowledgeable and pleasant. They explained the procedure and recovery time. They give you the full picture not what you might want to hear. You have all the information to make an informed decision. *
Linda B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/01/24
I had a consult about my hip pain. Dr. Karas and his resident answered my questions, were kind and I left feeling less anxious about needing surgery.*
Amanda M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/01/24
Dr Kara’s is a great dr cause he takes the time to listen to the concerned u have about the surgery and then after surgery he is here also to help u get the best recovery there is. So I would tell anyone about him*
Raul R.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 01/31/24
Excelente *
Diane M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 01/31/24
Staff was Professional and nice. Quick service. Awesome Doctors*
Juan A.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 01/31/24
Es una experiencia muy agradable el ser paciente del Dr Kara’s. El trato es muy profesional y realmente se preocupan por tu bienestar. *
* Results cannot be guaranteed and may vary from person to person